Colonial Road Runners Annual Meeting and Elections 2014

- 1. Call to order at 7:09 PM by President Rick Platt. The quorum of 11 members was met.
- 2. Motion was made to change 4.3 of the bylaws to allow the annual meeting to be held between April 15 and June 1 at a time and place to be determined by the Board of Directors. Passed unanimously by the 61 members present at the time of the vote.
- **3.** Conflict of Interest policy passed by the Board was presented to the membership by Jim Winthrop.
- 4. Members were reminded of the June 2 deadline for the CRR college scholarship for graduating high school seniors. Recipient will be decided at the June 3 Board meeting.
- 5. Members get a 15% discount on purchases at Colonial Sports. The complete list of places where discounts are available is continuing to be compiled by Rick.
- 6. Upcoming team competition at the Elizabeth River Run. If you are over 70% in age graded competition, please join the CRR/PTC team.
- 7. Update on races the Vineyards is moving to a morning start due to frequent weather related issues with afternoon/evening races in the summer. The venue may move back to the Winery.
- Treasurer's report was presented. Copy on the website at <u>http://colonialroadrunners.org/Minutes/2014_Treasurers_Report.PDF</u>
- **9.** Terry McManus, new Board member, was introduced as the newsletter editor, race publicist, and public relations person. The first newsletter collating will be on May 29 at Terry's. Deadline for content is the week before.
- **10.**Recognition of Jim Goggin and Jennifer Quarles who are leaving the Board. Jim will stay on as the scholarship committee chair.
- **11.** New Board member, Steve Chantry, was introduced. Steve is CRR team coordinator with Greg Dawson, is in the Peninsula Road Racing Hall of Fame, and is a world masters' champion in track.
- 12. Brenda Mitchell chaired the nominating committee and Jim Winthrop presented the slate as follows: President Rick Platt; First Vice President Greg Dawson; Second Vice President Will Murray; Secretary Stan Rockwell; Treasurer Randy Hawthorne; and Board members Steve Chantry, Ron Henn, Terry McManus, Mike MacDonald, Steve Menzies, Brenda Mitchell, Bob Walker, and Jim Winthrop. Daniel Shaye was nominated for president from the floor by Bob Wilson and the nomination was seconded. All uncontested positions were passed by acclimation. Jim Winthrop managed the election. Individuals spoke concerning the candidates, and then each candidate spoke. Sixty seven members were present for the election and voted by paper ballots. The ballots were counted by Ken Mitchell, Jim Winthrop, and Stan Rockwell. The totals were 55 for Rick Platt and 12 for Daniel Shaye. Rick Platt was re-elected as president.

- 13.Tommy Neeson discussed and answered questions about his run from Maine to Florida to raise money for Ronald MacDonald Houses. Information about Tommy can be found at http://crronline.blogspot.com/2014/05/tommy-neeson-to-speak-at-annual-meeting.html.
- 14. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 8:30 and was followed by a social.

Submitted by Stan Rockwell